Studying for Finals and Desserts

All my friends from home are already done with finals, done with their sophomore year of college. While they’re all hanging out together and having fun, I’ve been studying and writing essays. Luckily, I will be done with all my classes by Thursday. I just have to get through six more pages of an essay and one test.

Rice Krispie treats have been helping me get through the preparation. My parents brought me a variety pack of candy from Costco this year instead of sending me a finals care package as they have in previous semesters. Unfortunately, I’ve gotten sick of the super sweet and sugary candies in the pack.

As I went to put the candy in my snack drawer, I realized I had all the ingredients necessary to make Rice Krispie treats. Score. While they are still sugary, they are a break from my usual Skittles or Starbursts.

The ingredients

 


Put the marshmallows into a bowl with 1/3 a stick of butter. Microwave on high for 2 minutes.


Add generous spoonfuls of peanut butter and microwave for another 45 seconds.


Stir the mixture until it is smooth. If it is still lumpy, put it back in the microwave for 30 seconds.


Add two to three cups of Rice Krispies into the bowl and stir.


Once the Rice Krispies are evenly covered with the peanut butter and marshmallow mixture, press it onto a paper plate or whatever you have on hand that will work.


The finished product!

It is quick, delicious, and simple. I tried to melt some chocolate chips to drizzle over my treats, but I didn’t have anything other than plastic bowls. The bowl and chocolate melted into each other, so my Rice Krispie treats will have to stay undrizzled.

I have no problem with that. Peanut butter, Rice Krispies, and marshmallows are a wonderful mixture.

 

Other No-cook Dessert Ideas:
1. Oreo Cheesecake Bites
2. Confetti Popcorn Bars
3. Cheesecake Stuffed Strawberries

Leave a Reply

