Single Serving Puppy Chow

Last semester, I tweeted “Puppy chow and How I Met Your Mother on Netflix are the only things getting me through dead week right now. #Ihaveaproblem #somuchpuppychow.”

My cousin from New Jersey read that tweet and thought I was legitimately eating food for dogs. I don’t know if this is because she is from New Jersey, or if her life lacking one of the greatest snacks ever is just a fluke. According to Wikipedia, it is also referred to as “Muddy Buddies” and it is most commonly eaten in the Midwest.

Anyway, now that finals are coming up again, my healthy eating has taken a hit. I cannot get enough puppy chow. Puppy chow is crunchy, rich, sugary–everything I love in a snack. And it is incredibly easy to make in a dorm.

All you need is toasted rice cereal, chocolate chips, peanut butter, powdered sugar, butter, and vanilla extract. I’m sure if you didn’t have the butter and vanilla extract, the recipe would come out just fine.

What I like about puppy chow is how easy it is to make without a recipe. All you do is melt the butter, peanut butter, and chocolate together. Then coat it in powdered sugar. Delicious and simple–my favorite kind of recipe.

Since I was just making a batch for myself, I guessed how much of each to put in. This was about three spoonfuls of peanut butter, a slice of butter, and chocolate chips to cover it all.

Put in the microwave for 35-45 seconds. Remove and stir. Put back in for another 30-40 seconds. If you have vanilla extract, add it to the peanut butter and chocolate chips. Taste your mixture to see if you want to add more peanut butter or more chocolate. It is all personal preference.

Coat your cereal with the mixture. If you have brown paper bags, pour the coated cereal into a bag and sprinkle in powdered sugar. Shake the bag to coat the cereal in sugar.

If you don’t have a paper bag, you can put it in a clean trash bag or you can put it all in a large bowl and cover the bowl while you shake it.

The final product. Not all my cereal was perfectly coated, but it didn’t bother me at all. Making your own puppy chow will be much better than buying it from the store because you control the ratio of chocolate to peanut butter or chocolate to powdered sugar.

Leave a Reply

