Healthy Study Break Snack: Frozen Yogurt Dots

I did not have a pleasant experience with my random roommate I was assigned last year. The experience was so unpleasant that my parents let me get a single dorm room this year. While I enjoy having my own space much more, there is one thing I miss about my old dorm: the mini fridge.

My roommate provided the fridge. I never knew how good I had it until this year when I had to get my own fridge. My current fridge does not have a functioning freezer. There is a tiny compartment that is slightly colder than the fridge, but it is not much of a help. I really only use it to put water bottles in when I need them to get cold more quickly than they would sitting in the fridge.

I didn’t realize that freezer didn’t work until the first time I bought ice cream. After a few hours, the ice cream had mostly melted. I turned down the temperature to keep the ice cream frozen, but that froze everything in my fridge. Taking a drink of slushy Gatorade when you’re half asleep and expecting liquid is more disturbing than you would imagine.

This was never a problem in my old fridge. That thing kept frozen dinners and ice cream frozen. I could make ice cubes in it. It was an actual, albeit small, freezer.

If you are lucky enough to have such a freezer, frozen yogurt dots would be a great way to take advantage of it. All you need is your favorite flavor of yogurt, a sandwich bag, scissors, and a freezer. If you don’t have a sandwich bag or scissors in your dorm, you could just scoop little dots of yogurt onto a plate with a spoon.

I’ve seen this idea on Pinterest a lot, and I’ve been wanting to try it. My freezer just won’t let it happen. I am sure I would love it though, because as a kid I always kept my Go-Gurt in the freezer.

These yogurt dots would be an easy, cheap, and healthy snack for late night study sessions. Much healthier than my last study break idea, but still sweet. You could mix them in with some pretzels or just eat them plain. Delicious.

Leave a Reply

