Homesick Sunday and a Superbowl Recipe

I’m not a huge football fan. I cheer for the Giants if they are playing. I smack talk friends whose team plays against my team. I wear Giants pajama pants and t-shirts. But I really couldn’t tell you anything technical about the game.

To me, since junior high the Super Bowl has been an excuse to eat. With all my friends. On a school night. It was a magical day because I got to fill my plate with taco dip, pinwheels, trail mix, and bagel bites. Other than the Giants vs. the Patriots in 2008, my most memorable Super Bowl moments have had nothing to do with football. I remember the time I dropped my plate on my friend’s floor and we frantically tried to clean it up without her mom noticing. I remember the time we prank called our guy friends because they thought they were too cool to watch it with us. I remember the first time my best friend picked me up and drove me to the party instead of our parents driving. I don’t even remember what teams played in the Super Bowl any of those years.

The guys from my floor last year are the opposite. They love football. They can name players and spout off statistics and talk about who has the best chance. To them, the Super Bowl is the culmination of all their Sundays spent in front of the television, all the times they had to stop what they were doing to update their fantasy roster.

Most of them live more than four hours away from home. A lot of them only visited home last year when it was a university break. After 18-19 years of spending Super Bowl Sunday with their dads, brothers, or friends from home, they were stuck in a dorm. It was the first time any of them showed even a hint of homesickness to me.

Of course, they all ended up having a good time with friends they’d met just months before. They picked the dorm with the biggest TV, crowded onto a futon, and ate Doritos and fruit snacks. They yelled and cheered and talked about strategy through the commercials.

I got bored with football halfway through the game and left to watch movies in my dorm. Fruit snacks and Doritos were not enough to hold my interest.

This year, I’m going to try to make the Super Bowl a little bit more like home.

This recipe doesn’t even require a microwave. It is a recipe for Ham Pinwheels that my boyfriend always ate as a child. I was a bit skeptical about them, because I am not a fan of jalapeños or black olives, but they are completely delicious. I am not proud of how many of these I ate. I could’ve easily eaten more, too, if we hadn’t run out.

 

Ham Pinwheels

Ingredients:
1 package of large or extra-large flour tortillas
1 package of cream cheese, softened
Mayonnaise (I just guessed how much to put in there, you won’t use a whole jar)
Black olives
Green onions
Jalapeños
Ham (my boyfriend insisted Carl Buddig brand original ham was necessary, but it turned out great using Target’s brand mesquite smoked ham. Just use whichever ham you normally prefer)

Directions:


Chop up your black olives, jalapeños, and green onions. We didn’t use too many of each because we were only making two wraps worth.


Mix together your cream cheese, mayonnaise, green onions, black olives, and jalapeños.

Spread onto the tortilla


Lay enough pieces of ham down on top of the cream cheese mixture to almost cover the tortilla


Roll your tortilla up and cut off the ends. If you wrap your pinwheel up in plastic wrap and put it in the fridge for a bit,  it is easier to cut. We were too impatient to do that, and it turned out fine.


Cut into small pieces and enjoy!

For my previous Super Bowl recipe idea, look here 

Leave a Reply

