My Good Luck Charm for Super Bowl Sunday

January 6, 2008. The New York Giants were set to play against Tampa Bay at noon. My dad wanted to stay home from 11:15 mass so he could watch the game from the beginning. My mom didn’t think watching a football game was a valid reason to miss church, so my dad changed out of his Giants t-shirt and into a green, long-sleeved polo. He got home 20 minutes into the game only to see the Giants playing horribly.

But then things changed. The Giants won. The next playoff game, my dad woke up for 11:15 mass and wore his polo. They won again. The day of the Super Bowl, he refused to wear any Giants memorabilia. He wore the green, plaid polo. And they won. The Giants beat the New England Patriots.

I was too scared to watch the game at my house. My dad, normally one of the most levelheaded and rational people I know, turns into someone completely different during Giants games. If I want a glass of water, I can’t get up and leave the room during a play. If I sit down and they start to do well, I’m not allowed to move until they start doing poorly. If I walk into the kitchen and the Giants miss a field goal, I am told to leave the entire first floor. My dad yells, curses, and stresses out everyone around him.

Instead of watching the game with my dad and brother, I went to my friend’s house, decked out in Giants gear, with taco dip in hand. I didn’t have high expectations for the game. The Patriots’ record was 16-0. I just wanted to eat some good food and root for my team.

Four years later, and the Giants and Patriots are facing off again in the Super Bowl. This year, I have to watch it in my dorm. I only have a microwave and mini-fridge to work with. But I can still make this taco dip. I will make this taco dip, because if I don’t, and the Giants happen to lose, my dad will never forgive me.

Taco Dip

 
These are your basic ingredients. Taco seasoning, sour cream, salsa, cheese, lettuce, and mayonnaise. I don’t normally include mayo, but my friend recommended adding it, so I figured why not.

You could easily add ground beef, beans, olives or anything else you enjoy on tacos.


Mix together salsa, sour cream, and mayo. I enjoy equal parts sour cream and salsa, but you can adjust the amounts to suit your tastes.

 

Add as much or as little taco seasoning as you like–anywhere from 2 tablespoons to an entire packet is fine. I love taco seasoning, so I put a lot.


Spread the sour cream mixture onto your serving dish and top with lettuce. Shredded lettuce is probably the easiest to use, but I already had romaine in my fridge, so I used that.


Top with your favorite cheese (cheddar or a Mexican blend both work well) and serve with tortilla chips.

That’s it! This dip is customizable, easy to make, and addictive. My friends all loved it four years ago, and I’m sure everyone will love it again this year. This year will prove whether or not this dip is my green polo. I hope so, because I could totally eat this dip every Giants Sunday.

Check back later in the week for more Super Bowl party ideas!

 

Leave a Reply

