A New Kind of Microwave Popcorn

As I mentioned in my post about getting back in shape, unsalted, unbuttered popcorn is one of my new favorite snacks to eat after a run. Not only is it better for you than normal microwave popcorn, but it is also inexpensive and easy.

All you need is ¼ cup of popcorn kernels and a brown paper bag.


Put the kernels in the bag, fold over twice, and microwave for two to three minutes. Wait near your microwave and listen. Take the popcorn out when the pops are a few seconds apart.


That’s it! This popcorn is good on its own, and it is better for you than the standard ultra-buttered microwave popcorn.

However, if unbuttered, unsalted popcorn sounds boring to you, it is easy to add seasoning to your popcorn after it is cooked and shake it up in the paper bag. I tried two different varieties, cinnamon and sugar and Parmesan with garlic powder.


Melt ½ a tablespoon of butter in the microwave. Pour over your cooked popcorn and shake the bag until it is coated. The bags get pretty greasy, so you will probably want to have a bowl ready to pour your finished popcorn into.


For ¼ cup of kernels, I found 1 tablespoon of seasonings works well. For my cinnamon and sugar, I did equal parts of each. I had way too much butter in my first attempt and it made the popcorn a little soggy.


The combination of cinnamon and sugar was really good, but the butter was too much for me. If you only use 1/2 a tablespoon, like I did for my second try, it is much better.


For my Parmesan and garlic, I used ¾ tablespoon grated Parmesan and ¼ tablespoon garlic powder. It had a very light garlic taste, which my mom appreciated. I love garlic, so I probably could have added more.

The garlic and Parmesan popcorn.

I loved the Parmesan and garlic. It was a much more subtle flavor than the cinnamon and sugar. The cinnamon and sugar is good if you want a sweet snack.

Leave a Reply

